Thursday, December 17, 2009

Sam Weyand, Cycling Club's 1st President, is Moving to South Africa!

We want to thank Sam for all of his work on behalf of the SMU Cycling Club and wish him an enriching stay in Johannesburg.

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Dealey Dragon finishes 4th in USA Cyclocross Championship

A shout out to 8th grader Daniel Parks (who rides for local club GS Tenzing) and a classmate of my daughter Katarina, went to Bend Oregon to race the National championships. He finished a solid 4th! Is it too early to start recruiting?

Junior Male 13-14 # Rider Name (Country) Team Result
1 Ian Haupt (Planet Bike)
2 Peter Goguen (Minuteman Road Club)
3 Gavin Haley (Red Zone Cycling)
4 Daniel Parks (Gs Tenzing)
5 Austin Vincent (Clnoonan/kam/coast To Coast)
6 William Barta (Byrds)
7 Cooper Simon (Red Zone Cycling)
8 Ian Mcshane (Red Zone Cycling)
9 Ryan Grant (All Sport - Team Swift)
10 Karch Miller (Davis Bike Club)
11 Noah Granigan (Team Somerset)
12 Nils Boberg (Plan C)
13 David O'brien (Rad Racing/hagens Berman)
14 Liam Earl (Byrds)
15 Ben Hogan
16 Kody Raymond (Old Town Bicycle)
17 Logan Feasline (Vertical Earth)
18 Samuel Rosenberg
19 Maxx Chance
20 Cameron Millargriffin
21 Henry Hayes (2020 Fuel)
22 Garrett Roth (Nova Iscorp)
23 Evan Geary (Asc/redline)
24 Mitchell Stevens (Sunnysidesports)
25 Bridger Fiore (Montana Cyclocross)
26 Patrick Whitesel
27 Adin Baird
28 Stephen Haas (Black Sheep)
29 Cameron Williams (Bear Valley Bikes)
30 Ben Glover (Red Zone Cycling)
31 Jedidiah Fritzinger (Red Zone Cycling)
32 Owen Donnelly
33 Mike Jors (Ascracing/redline)

Monday, December 7, 2009

Winter Crits, Frank Cusimano in 2nd...

D Race (4,5s) posted by Christian on 12/6/2009 4:57:00 PM.

D race (4,5’s)

1. Jon Cotton Real T
2. Frank Cusimano SMU/Dallas Bikeworks
3. David Carter Corinth Cycling
4. Mike McCrary Corinth Cycling
5. Matthew Denton Real T
6. Glenn Tolle
7. Jon Rhodes McKinney Velo
8. Lee Allen Woodlands Cycling Club
9. Michael Winders McKinney Velo
10. Ken Primer
11. Shawn Jantzen Matrix
12. Russel Grindstaff
13. Michael Johnson
14. Leonard Roberson Team Bicycles Inc
15. Colin Roberson Team Bicycles Inc
16. Nicholas Roberson Team Bicycles Inc
25 Starters

More Winter Crit results

C Race (3,4s) posted by Christian on 12/6/2009 4:58:00 PM.

C Race (3,4’s)

1. Jamey Munroe McKinney Velo
2. Nicholas Boulle SMU/Park Place
3. Jacob White Tulsa
4. Robb Bush Colavita
5. Lee Eldridge Park Place
6. Roland San Miguel Corinth Cycling
7. Danny Parks GS Tenzing
8. Alex Castenada Matrix
9. Dave Parks Mirage
10. Jim May GS Tenzing
11. Imari Miller GS Tenzing
12. Rob Strange GS Tenzing
13. Shawn Jantzen Matrix

18 Starters


B Race (p1234) posted by Christian on 12/6/2009 4:58:00 PM.

B Race (1,2,3,4’s)

1. Nicholas Boulle SMU/Park Place
2. Michael Vasey GS Tenzing
3. David Arteaga Velossimo
4. Lee Eldrgidge Park Place
5. Alex Castenda Matrix
6. Robb Bush Colavita
7. Mario Arroyave Velossimo
8. Mike Reade Think Cash
9. Scott Braden Plano Athletic Cycling Club
10. John Ehinger
11. Noah Williams GS Tenzing

18 Starters

Thursday, December 3, 2009

Road calendar for 2010

Here is the 2010 Calendar, hope to see everyone at the races.
Centenary College Feb 13th & 14th (Shreveport, LA)
Texas Tech Feb 27th & 28th (Lubbock, TX)
Texas A&M Mar 6th & 7th (College Station, TX)
D/FW HS/Collegiate Weekend Mar 13th – 14th (Dallas, TX)
Texas State Mar 27th and 28th (San Marcos, TX)
Baylor Apr 10th & 11th (Waco, TX)
Midwestern State April 17th-18th (Wichita Falls, TX)
Conference Championships (Texas) April 24th – 25th (Austin, TX)

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Stats from Map

SMU's cycling club has 4 licensed members, which gives an indication of the relative size of a club to other USA Cycling registered clubs.

200 of the collegiate clubs in the US are larger, some have as many as 80+ licensed members.

75 clubs in the US are smaller.

14 are the same size.

Our peer institutions:
Emory has 0, Duke 16, Wake Forest has 19, Vandy has 5.

In our conference:
Texas A&M has 52, UT Austin 42, MSU, 29, Texas State 24, Houston 23, Texas Tech 13, Rice 11, Baylor 9, OU 9, SMU 4, St Edwards 3, SFA 2, UNT 1, Sam Houston 0, TCU 0, Centenary 0 - Google Maps - Google Maps

Collegiate cycling map provided by USA Cycling and the ECCC